Polar Vortex, Go away

It has been so unbelievably cold this past week, if you were outside for more than 30 seconds you can feel the frostbite setting in. That might be a slight exaggeration but dang! It’s chilly. The first time I experienced temperature that are so absolutely awful you couldn’t stand to be outside was my freshman year in college. I remember thinking to myself “Who on earth would want to live here in the winter? The wind never stops and every single day it feels colder than the day before!!”.

I went to college 20 miles north of where I live now…It’s not like I moved away to the Arctic Circle or anything. My not being able to cope with the cold(it was probably 20 degrees, which sounds like a heat wave compared to what we’ve been dealing with lately!) may have been due to the fact that I didn’t own any winter boots, or maybe that I was a bit malnourished living off of Nutella and graham crackers for the semester, but most likely it’s that I’m just a sucker when it comes to cold weather. This past Christmas Season I got to sit in a nice warm building selling Christmas trees and I’m not even joking, within an hour, I couldn’t feel my toes. AND I invested in some nice Timberland boots which I thought would keep me warm. But nope. My circulation is just non existent.  Image

Missing the warm beaches of Cancun right now!

On a more positive note, we got a wood stove this past Thursday! Yahoo!! It took 4 big strong men, one on each corner to lift that sucker off the truck and man, did it look heavy. It took a few days to get used to lighting a wood burning stove and the house has been filled with smoke on more than one occasion, but last night we finally got it to burn perfectly and the warm glow from that little guy was amazing. I’m a little worried about one of my kitties jumping on top of it, or touching it, but everyone keeps reminding me, they will only do that once and then learn their lesson! (ouch)

Yesterday has been the best weather for weeks, so my mom, sister and I decided to meet and make a day of it. We had lunch at the Cheese Importers which makes you feel like you took a trip to Paris, then went thrift shopping for something to inspire me. It turns out, it was Jordan (my sister) who was inspired. While perusing an Essential Techniques for Perfect Baking cookbook came across a Pear and Walnut Tart and decided that was our dessert of the night.

With poached pears and sweet walnut filling it was such a perfect combination on a cold winter evening. The warm soft pear was reminiscent of an apple and the crunch of the crust and walnuts was the perfect addition. And you can never go wrong with adding a little Blue Bell Ice cream to anything. I’ll post the link to the recipe soon! Thanks for the most delicious dessert I could imagine, Jordan!

Image

Leave a Reply

